Ajit Agarkar is the new chairman of the India men’s selection committee.

Former India all-rounder and ex-assistant coach of the Delhi Capitals, Ajit Agarkar, has been appointed as the chairman of the senior India men’s selection committee. The speculation that he would become the new chairman was already out when the Delhi Capitals released Ajit Agarkar from his position in the team. The position of chairman has been vacant since February 2023, when Chetan Sharma resigned from the post following a sting operation. SS Das was working as the interim chief, but from now on, former all-rounder Ajit Agarkar will be heading the committee as he is the most capped player in test cricket among the members, and this is the BCCI mandate that was followed to appoint him.

Ajit Agarkar would be representing the West Zone, which makes the West Zone dominant in the selection committee as Salil Ankola is also from the West Zone. The other members of the selection committee are Subroto Banerjee (Central Zone), S Sharath (South Zone), and SS Das (East Zone). Agarkar, while representing the Indian team, has played 191 ODIs and 26 Test matches and was also part of the 2007 T20 World Cup-winning team. His resume for this position was so strong, and after the interview, which was conducted by the Cricket Advisory Committee panel, he was selected as the new chairman.

Agarkar as a player has some special records to his name, such as the fact that for nearly a decade he was the record holder for the fastest player to 50 wickets in ODIs; it took only 23 matches for him to do that, which was later broken by Sri Lankan spinner Ajanta Mendis. Apart from bowling, he still holds the record for the fastest fifty by an Indian batsman in an ODI; it took only 21 balls to score his half-century.

Read More: AB De Villiers to compete Virat Kohli and Surya Kumar Yadav

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *