Every IPL Season Purple Cap Winner from 2008-2023: Who took the most Wickets in Every season of IPL

Read about all the past purple cap winners in Indian Premier League (IPL) From 2008 to 2023.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most popular and toughest T20 league globally, and top players come to play together worldwide. Every season, at the end of the tournament, the bowler with the most wickets gets the Purple Cap, which is an award given to appreciate his performance over the season.

In the cricketing era where most fans love to see players hitting sixes, the highest-scoring record keeps on breaking. Players like Rohit Sharma scoring three double centuries in ODI cricket take away the amount of effort the bowlers have to put in taking wickets. It’s getting harder for bowlers day by day because the pitches of the T20 and ODI are becoming more batting-friendly which is rated as a good pitch but when there is assistance to the bowlers then it is rated as bad which is a serious topic in today’s cricket because in the past there was a balance between bat and ball but now it’s all about sixes.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo are some of the finest IPL bowlers of the decade, having won the Purple Cap twice. Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the Purple cap for consecutive years in 2016 (23 wickets) and 2017 (26 wickets), an amazing feat for a medium pacer swing bowler. He is in the Sunrisers Hyderabad team and right now he is the most senior player for them in the 2024 season. On the other hand, Dwayne Bravo still holds the record alongside Harshal Patel in having the most wickets (32) in a single season, which he achieved during the 2013 season while playing for the Chennai Super Kings.

List of Purple Cap Winners in IPL From Season 2008 to 2023

2008Sohail Tanvir22Rajasthan Royals (RR)
2009RP Singh23Deccan Chargers (DC)
2010Pragyan Ojha21Deccan Chargers (DC)
2011Lasith Malinga28Mumbai Indians (MI)
2012Morne Morkel25Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)
2013Dwayne Bravo32Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
2014Mohit Sharma23Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
2015Dwayne Bravo26Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
2016Bhuvneshwar Kumar23Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
2017Bhuvneshwar Kumar26Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
2018Andrew Tye24Punjab Kings (PBKS)
2019Imran Tahir26Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
2020Kagiso Rabada30Delhi Capitals (DC)
2021Harshal Patel32Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)
2022Yuzvendra Chahal27Rajasthan Royals (RR)
2023Mohammed Shami28Gujarat Titans (GT)

The season of IPL 2024 is going on and right now Mustafizur Rahman is the leading wicket-taker who plays for Chennai Super Kings. He has taken the 7 wickets in the last three matches and will be a strong contender to get Purple Cap in the 2024 season.


Q. Who Was The Purple Cap Winner in IPL 2023?

A. The Indian pace bowler Mohammed Shami was the purple cap winner in the IPL 2023.

Q. Who Won The IPL Purple Cap Most Number Of Times?

A. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap two times.

Q. In Which IPL Season Did Yuzvendra Chahal win the Purple Cap?

A. Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cap in the 2022 IPL season while playing for Rajasthan Royals.

Read More Sports Related News on CrPatinews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *