Major League Cricket 2023: Faf DU Plessis’ Texas Super Kings beat Los Angeles Knight Riders by 69 runs.

The opener match of the Major League Cricket 2023 season ended in the Texas Super Kings favour as Faf Du Plessis‘ led team yellow beat the Knight Riders by 69 runs. To make cricket popular in the United States, MLC is a major step forward. The venue for the opening match of the league was Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas. Stadium previously belonged to a baseball club, the “Texas Airhogs Minor League” (now defunct), and due to the MLC, some major changes were made to the stadium to make it cricket-friendly. The MLC has spent over $20 million in the renovation work. Texas Super Kings put a respectable total of 181 runs on the board, which Los Angeles Knight Riders failed to cross as the whole team got out after making 112 runs. Andre Russell was the only player from LAKR to hit a fifty in the opener; the rest surrendered to the bowling attack of TSK.

International players would be seen in the league teaming up with United States cricket players. MLC is being backed by four IPL franchises, including Mumbai Indians. Faf Du Plessis was absolutely excited to continue his IPL form in this league as he was also in the commanding role after playing as a captain for Royal Challengers Bangalore, but he got out on a golden duck in the first ball he faced in MLC. Players like David Miller and Devon Conway scored runs for their teams, and both players scored their first half-centuries of the league. David Miller was even awarded Player of the match for his fiery fifty. He hit 61 from 42 balls, including four sixes.

Playing XI of both teams:

TSK: Devon Conway (WK), Faf Du Plessis (C), Milantha, Miller, Milind, Santner, Bravo, Savage, Coetzee, Mohsin, Rusty Theron

LAKR: Martin Guptill, Unmukt Chand, Malhotra (WK), Nitish Kumar, Rilee Rossouw, Russell, Narine (C), Ferguson, Corne, Ali, Zampa

Read More: India clich T20I series against Bangladesh

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *