Ravi Shastri And Farokh Engineer To Be Honored With BCCI Lifetime Achievement Awards

Former Indian players Ravi Shastri and wicketkeeper batter Farokh Engineer will be honored with BCCI's award.

Ex-India’s head coach Ravi Shastri and former India’s wicketkeeper batter Farokh Engineer will be honored with BCCI lifetime achievement awards for their contribution towards the development of Indian cricket. BCCI has halted the award ceremony since the onset of COVID-19 in 2020 and will resume the annual awards distribution event on Tuesday. Visitors team England and host India players of both teams will be present in the awards ceremony ahead of the first test in Hyderabad, apart from Ravi Shastri and Farokh Engineer Shubman Gill, who will be presented with the cricketer of the year award.

Shubman Gill had a wonderful year with the bat as the right-handed Indian batter crossed the mark of 2000 runs in the ODIs in 2023, becoming the fastest one to do so. He scored 5 tons in the ODIs last year. India’s former all-rounder Ravi Shastri, in his early days, represented India in 80 tests and 150 ODIs, scoring 15 centuries and 30 fifties combined. After his retirement from international cricket, Ravi Shastri served cricket with his voice in the commentary box and also coached the Indian men’s senior team from 2017 to 2021.

Farokh Engineer, who guarded the wickets during his days in the Indian team, represented India in the 46 tests and 5 ODIs, scoring two centuries in the tests and one fifty in the ODIs. He also played for Lancashire in the county. Several Indian players who are slowly building their name in domestic cricket will also receive the award at the ceremony. Saurashtra’s left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat, Mumbai’s Sarfaraz Khan, and left-arm spinner Shams Mulani are among them. Mumbai’s Pragnesh Kanpillewar will receive the award for scoring the most runs in the Cooch Bihar trophy.

Read latest cricket updates on CrPatiNews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *