Indian Captains who took India to Asia Cup victories from 1984-2022. Complete list and years.

Here is the list of the years and Indian captains who lead India in Asia Cup victories.

The most awaited Asian Continent event of Cricket, the Asia Cup 2023, has started and this time it will be jointly hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Six cricket teams of the Asian continent are fighting hard to show their might and three teams of the Asian continent has so far dominated the tournament since its beginning. The Asian giant India is one of them who has lifted the Asia Cup title for the maximum number of times, India clinched the Asia Cup for the seventh time in 2018. The glorious performance of India in the Asia Cup since the beginning of the continental tournament in 1984 maintained its dominance on the title, though last time in Asia Cup 2022, India was overpowered by Sri Lanka to clinch the title and became the second most successful team in the tournament. 

India has won the Asian title for 7 times till 2022, in fact the inaugural session of the Asia Cup back in 1984 India won that, there has been different heroes for the India’s subsequent victories in the Asia Cup tournament, from legendary batters like Sunil Gavaskar to the captain cool MS Dhoni all Indian legends have contributed their best to make India stand tall in the tally of the number of trophies. Here is the list of the Indian captains who have commanded India to the Asia Cup victory in different editions.

Edition(Year)Winner Captain Format
1984 IndiaSunil Gavaskar ODI
1988IndiaDilip Vengsarkar ODI
1990IndiaMohammad AzharuddinODI
1995IndiaMohammad AzharuddinODI
2010IndiaMS DhoniODI
2016IndiaMS DhoniT20I
2018IndiaRohit Sharma ODI
2023TBDRohit Sharma ODI

The Asia Cup when started in 1984 there were only three nations (India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka) and the addition of more teams in the Asia Cup tournament started in 1988 when Bangladesh was added in the list of the participants taking the teams’ count to 4. Since then more nations were added and as of 2023 six teams are competing in the tournament. 

Read latest cricket updates on CrPatiNews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *