Delhi Capitals Team 2024

New Delhi, India
2008 (As Delhi Daredevils)
DC Home Ground
Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
DC Captain
Rishabh Pant
DC Coach
Ricky Ponting

Delhi Capitals Team: An Overview

Delhi Capitals, formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, is a renowned franchise cricket team based in New Delhi, India. The team competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and was founded in 2008. The home ground of the DC team is the Arun Jaitley Stadium, located in Delhi, with a seating capacity of over 55,000 spectators. GMR Sports Pvt. Ltd. and JSW Sports Pvt. Ltd. are the joint owners of the franchise. View More

One of the original eight teams in the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Delhi Capitals have historically struggled to find significant success. And it wasn’t until 2019 that they made their breakthrough beyond the league stage by reaching the third position on the points table. The franchise achieved their first and only IPL finals appearance in 2020 under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer. Despite their efforts, they fell short of claiming the title and ended up as runners-up. In recent years, particularly over the past three seasons, the Delhi Capitals have consistently performed well, regularly competing for top positions in the league.

The current season, 2024, sees the team being coached by Sridharan Sriram and Rishabh Pant, who is set to lead the team after his setback in the previous season due to a car crash. Delhi Capitals (DC) boasts a rich history with iconic players such as Virender Sehwag, Shreyas Iyer, Gautam Gambhir, Chris Morris, and Zaheer Khan, who have left a lasting impact on the franchise. Among the many seasons DC has played, one that stands out as particularly memorable in IPL history was arguably in 2020 when they reached the finals under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer, the team showcased a stellar performance throughout the tournament, finishing as the runners-up.

As the Delhi Capitals team prepares for the upcoming 2024 season, all eyes are on whether they will continue their streak of strong performances seen in the past three years. Will they emerge triumphant and finally seize the trophy this time around? Only time will tell.

Delhi Capitals Squad 2024

Rishabh Pant (c)Axar PatelPravin Dubey
David WarnerLalit YadavVicky Ostwal
Prithvi ShawMitchell MarshAnrich Nortje
Yash DhullSumit KumarKuldeep Yadav
Shai HopeLungi Ngidi
Swastik ChhikaraKhaleel Ahmed
Abishek PorelIshant Sharma
Harry BrookJhye Richardson
Ricky BhuiMukesh Kumar
Kumar KushagraRasikh Dar
Tristan Stubbs

Delhi Capitals Top Players 2024

The DC IPL team 2024 players list includes star performers and these three players hold the key to the team’s success, promising an exciting and competitive season.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant, the swashbuckling batter-keeper, is undoubtedly one of the most talented cricketers in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Delhi Capitals retained him before the 2018 IPL auction, and he proved to be a wise investment for the franchise. His impressive performances for Delhi Capitals even earned him the captaincy for the 2021 and 2022 seasons. With close to 2500 runs and 15 half-centuries in his IPL career, Pant has established himself as a key player for his team. In 68 matches, he has scored 2079 runs at an average of 35.23 and a strike rate of 151.97.
After recovering from a car crash that sidelined him for almost a year, Pant is now set to play in IPL 2024. His fans are eagerly waiting to see him back in action, and there is no doubt that he will once again prove to be a valuable asset for the Delhi Capitals.

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw has time and again demonstrated his ability to thrive in high-pressure situations while playing for the Delhi franchise. Delhi Capitals recognized his talent and retained him for the 2021 season, and their confidence in him was well-founded, given his impressive record of 1694 runs in 71 matches at an average of 23.86 and a strike rate of 145.78. Despite suffering a knee injury, Prithvi Shaw’s retention by the Delhi Capitals for the upcoming season is a testament to the franchise’s commitment to his rehabilitation and potential performance. As an opener, he is one of the most exciting batters to watch when he is in top form, and the Delhi Capitals will undoubtedly be looking to him to lead the charge against their opponents in the upcoming IPL season.

Axar Patel
Axar Patel has been an integral part of his team since 2020, and he knows how to make it to the IPL final. Over the course of his IPL career, which includes 136 matches, Patel has scored 1418 runs at an average of 20.55. Being a left-arm spinner, he is also known for his accuracy and can bowl in any match phase. His calm demeanour under pressure is one of his most valuable assets, which his teammates and fans appreciate. With his impressive track record and consistent performances, it’s no wonder he continues to be an important player for the Delhi Capitals.

Top Player


David Warner

David Warner

Role : Batter
Batting Style : Left-handed
Bowling Style : Right-arm Leg Spin
Nationality : Australian
DOB : 27 October 1986
IPL Debut : 2009

Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant

Role : Wicketkeeper Batter
Batting Style : Left-handed
Bowling Style : N/A
Nationality : Indian
DOB : 04 October 1997
IPL Debut : 2016

Prithvi Shaw

Prithvi Shaw

Role : Batter
Batting Style : Right-handed
Bowling Style : N/A
Nationality : Indian
DOB : 09 November 1999
IPL Debut : 2018

Axar Patel

Axar Patel

Role : All-rounder
Batting Style : Left-handed
Bowling Style : Left-arm Orthodox Spin
Nationality : Indian
DOB : 20 January 1994
IPL Debut : 2014

IPL DC Team 2024 News

Delhi Capitals IPL Team FAQs

The Delhi Capitals team has reached the IPL playoffs six times.

Kumar Kushagra is the most expensive player in the IPL DC team 2024 and was acquired for ₹7.2 crore.

The Delhi Capitals squad has reached the IPL finals only once in 2020 against Mumbai Indians and finished up as runners-up.

Rishabh Pant will lead the Delhi Capitals 2024 squad.

Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Khaleel Ahmed, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Mukesh Kumar, Yash Dhull, Vicky Ostwal, and Abishek Porel.

More News

No more posts to show