Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Team

Cricket_trophy 2012, 2014
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
KKR Venue
Eden Gardens
KKR Captain
Shreyas Iyer
KKR Coach
Chandrakant Pandit

Kolkata Knight Riders - Overview

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is a franchise cricket team based in Kolkata, West Bengal, India. The team competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and was founded in 2008. The home ground of KKR is Eden Gardens Stadium, which has a seating capacity of over 66,000 spectators. The franchise is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan’s Red Chillies Entertainment in partnership with actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. View More

Since its inception in 2008, KKR has consistently performed, securing two IPL titles (2012 and 2014). Chandrakant Pandit coached the team for the 2024 season and is currently captained by Shreyas Iyer.
The team’s journey in the IPL has been marked by ups and downs, with some remarkable seasons showcasing their competitive spirit. Several players have been constants for KKR, contributing significantly to the team’s success. Notable names like Gautam Gambhir, Sunil Narine, and Andre Russell have been pivotal in shaping KKR’s legacy. Their skills and commitment have made them iconic figures in the team.

KKR’s best performance came in the IPL 2014 season, where they clinched the championship under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. The team displayed exceptional teamwork and individual brilliance throughout the tournament. Key moments included Robin Uthappa’s consistent batting and Sunil Narine’s impactful bowling, leading KKR to a well-deserved victory.

As KKR gets ready for the IPL 2024 season, the team will show it’s a strong and skilled force in cricket, highlighting their great playing and teamwork.

Kolkata Knight Riders 2024 Squad

Nitish RanaAnkul RoySuyash Sharma
Rinku SinghRamandeep SinghMujeeb Ur Rahman
Rahmanullah GurbaazAndre RussellGus Atkinson
Shreyas IyerVenkatesh IyerSakib Hussain
Sherfane RutherfordHarshit Rana
KS BharatSunil Narine
Manish PandeyVaibhav Arora
Jason RayVarun Chakravarthy
Angkrish RaghuvanshMitchell Starc
Chetan Sakariya

Kolkata Knight Riders Cricket Team Top Players

As KKR gears up for IPL 2024, these three players hold the key to the team’s success, promising an exciting and competitive season.

Mitchell Starc: The seasoned Australian pacer is bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders team for INR24.75 CR and will add firepower to KKR’s bowling lineup. Known for his lethal pace and swing, Starc is expected to play a crucial role in creating breakthroughs during the 2024 IPL season. With his ability to consistently deliver yorkers and surprise bouncers, Starc brings a wealth of experience to the team, making him a key asset for KKR.

Shreyas Iyer: The Indian batsman and captain of KKR, is set to lead the team from the front. Renowned for his elegant stroke play and captaincy skills, Iyer stabilises the batting order. His strategic acumen and aggressive yet calculated approach make him a dynamic force on the field. Fans can anticipate Iyer’s impactful contributions as a batsman and a leader.

Andre Russell: The West Indian all-rounder is a powerhouse for KKR. Known for his explosive batting and impactful bowling, Russell’s versatility adds a dynamic dimension to the team. Russell is a game-changer with his ability to clear the boundaries effortlessly and pick crucial wickets. KKR will rely on Russell’s match-winning performances to secure victories in the upcoming season.

Top Player


Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer

Role : Batter
Batting Style : Right-handed
Bowling Style : Right-arm Off-break
Nationality : Indian
DOB : 06 December 1994
IPL Debut : 2015

Rinku Singh

Rinku Singh

Role : Batter
Batting Style : Left-handed
Bowling Style : Right-arm Offbreak
Nationality : Indian
DOB : 12 October 1997
IPL Debut : 2017

Andre Russell

Andre Russell

Role : All-rounder
Batting Style : Right-handed
Bowling Style : Right-arm Fast
Nationality : West Indian
DOB : 29 April 1988
IPL Debut : 2012

Sunil Narine

Ravindra Jadeja

Role : Bowler
Batting Style : Left-handed
Bowling Style : Right-arm Off-spin
Nationality : West Indian
DOB : 26 May 1988
IPL Debut : 2012

KKR Team News

Kolkata Knight Riders IPL Team FAQs

Shreyas Iyer (C), Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Jason Roy, Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer.

Gautam Gambhir holds the record for the highest number of runs scored by a batsman for Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League. The legendary Indian cricketer accumulated 3035 runs while playing for the Kolkata-based team. Gambhir is the only KKR player to have scored more than 3000 runs in the IPL.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL two times, 2012 & 2014.

Mitchell Starc is the most expensive player in the Kolkata Knight Riders IPL team and was bought for INR 24.75 crore.

More News

No more posts to show