List Of Orange Cap Holders In IPL(2008-2023)

Here is the list of the orange cap holders of the Indian Premier League from 2008 till 2023.

The Indian Premier League has allowed cricketing talents worldwide to perform at their best in this cash-rich league. The top batters in cricket displayed their run-hitting abilities in this T20 league, and to recognize their talent, the IPL decided to bestow an orange cap on the league’s top scorer. Since 2008, many players have been crowned with orange caps, but some have maintained their efficacy in scoring runs in this cutthroat race.

David Warner is the only player on the list of Orange Cap holders to get this cap three times(2015, 2017, 2019). He played for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in all those seasons. Caribbean star and the “Universe Boss” Chris Gayle is the only other batter awarded this Orange cap twice in the IPL season. Australia’s Shaun Marsh was the first player to get this award, and he got the cap in the inaugural season of the IPL. Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian to get the coveted IPL orange cap in the third season of the IPL.

2008Shaun Marsh616KXIP
2009Matthew Hayden572CSK
2010Sachin Tendulkar618MI
2011Chris Gayle608RCB
2012Chris Gayle733RCB
2013Michael Hussey733CSK
2014Robin Uthappa660KKR
2015David Warner562SRH
2016Virat Kohli973RCB
2017David Warner641SRH
2018Kane Williamson735SRH
2019David Warner692SRH
2020KL Rahul670KXIP
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad635CSK
2022Jos Buttler 863RR
2023Shubman Gill890GT

India’s batter Shubman Gill is the latest addition to this list, as the right-handed batter scored 890 runs in the IPL 2023, the most by any batter that season. Lucknow Super Giants is the only team whose players are yet to win the IPL orange cap. As IPL 2024 has started, it will be interesting to see who will be the next to hold this coveted cap.


Who Was The Orange Cap Holder in IPL 2008?

Australian batter Shaun Marsh won the Orange Cap in the IPL 2008. He scored 616 runs playing for Kings Xi Punjab (now Punjab Kings).

Who Won The IPL Orange Cap Most Number Of Times?

David Warner is the batter who has won the Orange Cap a maximum of three times. The left-handed batter got the cap three times as of 2023.

In Which IPL Season Did Virat Kohli Win The Orange Cap?

Virat Kohli won the Cap in IPL 2016. He scored 973 runs that season.

Did KL Rahul Win The Orange Cap In The IPL?

Yes, KL Rahul was the winner of Orange Cap in IPL 2020.

Read latest cricket updates on CrPatiNews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *