Indian Men’s Hockey Team Draws Tough Opponents in Pool B at Paris Olympics 2024

PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth secure victories, HS Prannoy exits early at BWF French Open 2024.

The Indian men’s hockey team is gearing up for a challenging campaign at the Paris Olympics 2024 after being drawn into Pool B alongside formidable opponents. The pool and match schedule were officially unveiled, revealing an intense lineup of matches for the Indian squad.

Led by captain Harmanpreet Singh, India, eight-time gold medalists in men’s hockey at the Olympics, secured their qualification for the Paris Olympics by clinching the gold medal at the Asian Games 2022 in Hangzhou. Now, they face an arduous task in their quest for Olympic glory.

India finds themselves pitted against Belgium, Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, and Ireland in Pool B. The competition promises to be fierce, with each team vying for supremacy on the grand Olympic stage.

The journey for the Indian team kicks off on July 27 with a showdown against New Zealand, followed by clashes against Argentina and Ireland on consecutive days. The final two pool matches will see India taking on the reigning champions Belgium and the powerhouse Australia, posing significant challenges for the Indian side.

Belgium, the defending champions in men’s hockey at the Olympics, and Australia, who clinched gold in Athens 2004 and were silver medalists in Tokyo, present formidable opponents for India. However, with their historic bronze medal win at Tokyo 2020, India has proven their mettle on the global stage.

The hockey tournaments at the Paris Olympics 2024 will be held at the iconic Yves-du-Manoir Stadium in Colombes, near Paris, adding a touch of historical significance to the event. With 12 men’s and 12 women’s national teams competing, including reigning gold medalists from Tokyo 2020, the stage is set for an exhilarating display of hockey prowess.

Read Latest Hockey updates on CrPatiNews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *