Daniil Medvedev Partners with Andrey Rublev for PBG Eagles in World Tennis League Season 2

Daniil Medvedev to compete for Indian team 'PBG Eagles' in the World Tennis League's second season alongside Andrey Rublev.

Daniil Medvedev, the 2021 US Open champion, is all set to represent the Indian team ‘PBG Eagles’ in the upcoming second season of the World Tennis League (WTL). His teammate for this event will be fellow Russian Andrey Rublev. The year-ending tournament is scheduled to begin on December 24.

The Indian team ‘PBG Eagles’ has been acquired by the Punit Balan Group, which already owns nine teams across various sports leagues. The WTL’s second season, with support from former Indian tennis player Mahesh Bhupathi, is set to take place at Yas Island’s Etihad Arena in Abu Dhabi from December 21 to 24. Sixteen of the world’s top tennis stars will participate in this exciting event.

Medvedev, who reached the semi-finals at this year’s Wimbledon, expressed his enthusiasm, stating, “I’m delighted to be joining for this season of the World Tennis League in Abu Dhabi. I’ve played several times in the UAE and always enjoy coming back, and I’m aiming to finish this year on a positive note there.”

Punit Balan, the Chairman & Managing Director of PBG, emphasized their goal of winning the title as they venture into this global tennis project. He mentioned, “We are thrilled to be a part of the World Tennis League, marking a significant stride in Punit Balan Group’s dedication to creating a global sports property. With some of the world’s most exceptional tennis talents already part of our franchise, we are eagerly anticipating a season filled with unmatched and thrilling tennis action. Much like our successes in other sporting disciplines, we aim to put up quality competition and clinch the championship title.”

The Punit Balan Group is already involved in various sports leagues, including the Premier Handball League, Ultimate Table Tennis, Ultimate Kho Kho, Maharashtra Premier League, Premier Badminton League, Pro Panja, and Global Chess League.

The WTL format consists of four teams, each with four players competing in men’s and women’s singles, doubles, and mixed doubles.

Read Latest Football updates on CrPati News

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *