What Is The Difference Between Retired Hurt And Retired Out In Cricket? Full Explanation

Complete explanation of the terms retired hurt and retired out.

Fans of any sport or game pretty much know the details of that particular game, but some rules are complex to understand or are kind of confusing due to their micro differences, and the game of cricket is full of such codes of conduct or rules. Here is the explanation of two such terms in the game of cricket, where the fans get confused a lot. The terms are Retired Hurt and Retired Out, which often bring confusion to the fans’ minds. Here is the simple explanation of these two terms and the differences between them.

Retired Hurt: A player in the game of cricket while playing a match is deemed retired hurt or absent hurt if he or she suffers an injury or illness or is unable to continue the match. After consulting with the on-field umpire, the player can leave the field and will be declared retired-hurt (not out).

Retired Out: A player in the game of cricket while playing a match is deemed retired-out if the player voluntarily pulls out of batting and leaves the crease to give an opportunity to the batter who can bat better than him. If a player declares himself retired, he is not allowed to bat again during the match, except if the opposition’s captain allows him to bat during the innings.

What Do MCC Rules Say About Retired Hurt And Retired Out?

25.4.1: A batter may retire at any time during his/her innings when the ball is dead. The umpires, before allowing play to proceed, shall be informed of the reason for a batter retiring.

25.4.2: If a batter retires because of illness, injury, or any other unavoidable cause, that batter is entitled to resume his/her innings. If for any reason this does not happen, that batter is to be recorded as ‘Retired – not out’.

24.5.3: If a batter retires for any reason other than as in 25.4.2, the innings of that batter may be resumed only with the consent of the opposing captain. If for any reason his/her innings is not resumed, that batter is to be recorded as ‘Retired – out’.


Does Anyone Retired Himself Out In International Cricket?

There are various cricket players who have used this rule to leave the field; one of them was Rohit Sharma.

Who Was The First Player To Be Retired Out?

Sri Lanka’s Marvan Atapattu was the first player to retired-out himself in international cricket.

Can A Retired Out Batter Bat Again?

Yes, a retired out batter can bat again only if the opposition’s captain allows him to bat after being given a retired out.

Can A Retired Hurt Batter Bat Again?

Yes, the batter can resume batting once he or she is fit to bat again if the inning of his or her team is not over.

Read latest cricket updates on CrPatiNews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *