Is Hardik Pandya An exception, Or Has Trading Of Players Happened Before?

Trade deals in the IPL and a list of players who were traded prior to Hardik Pandya.

Since Hardik Pandya got back to his former IPL team, the Mumbai Indians, there has been curiosity among cricket fans about how that happened, as the Gujarat Titans, which was the team he was playing for, already named him on the retention players list before the deadline. Gujarat Titans had retained Hardik Pandya as the captain of the IPL 2022 winning team’s captain, but Mumbai Indians struck a deal with the Gujarat Titans to get him back. So what has happened between the franchises, and how did Mumbai Indians get Hardik Pandya back in the team? Here is the answer to that:

The Mumbai Indians did a one-way trade with the Gujarat Titans to get Hardik back in the team; they also did a trade with RCB to send Australian all-rounder Cameron Green for INR 17.5 crore. Teams are allowed to do the trade according to the rules of the trade window, and all 10 teams are allowed to do the trade until December 12, as IPL 2024 auctions are scheduled for December 19, 2023.

Players Who Were Traded In The IPL So Far

Hardik Pandya is no exception, as the trading of players has happened almost in every IPL season except the inaugural and during the mega auctions of 2011, 2014, 2018, and 2022. Here is the list of the players who were traded in IPL history.

IPL 2009: Ashish Nehra (MI to DD) for Shikhar Dhawan (DD to MI), Zaheer Khan (RCB to MI) for Robin Uthappa (MI to RCB), Jaydev Shah (RR to MI), Gaurav Dhiman (MI to RCB) and Pankaj Singh (RR to RCB)

IPL 2010: Moises Henriques (KKR to DD) for Owais Shah & Manoj Tiwary (DD to KKR)

IPL 2012: Andrew McDonald (DD to RCB), Kevin Pietersen (DC to DD), Dinesh Karthik (KXIP to MI), Harmeet Singh (DC to KXIP), Rajagopal Sathish (MI to KXIP), Pragyan Ojha (DC to MI), Ashok Dinda (DD to PWI), Shreevats Goswami (KKR to RR), Ross Taylor (RR to DD), Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (PWI to DC), Ali Murtaza (MI to PWI)

IPL 2013: Ashish Nehra (PWI to DD) for Ross Taylor (DD to PWI)

IPL 2015: Iqbal Abdullah (RR to RCB), Manvinder Bisla (KKR to RCB), Parthiv Patel (RCB to MI), Unmukt Chand (RR to MI), Vinay Kumar (KKR to MI), Mandeep Singh (KXIP to RCB)

IPL 2016: Kedar Jadhav (DD to RCB), Albie Morkel (DD to RPS), Saurabh Tiwary (DD to RPS), KL Rahul (SRH to RCB), Parvez Rasool (SRH to RCB).

IPL 2017: Mayank Agarwal (DD to RPS), Shardul Thakur (KXIP to RPS)

IPL 2019: Mandeep Singh (RCB to KXIP) for Marcus Stoinis (KXIP to RCB), Shikhar Dhawan (SRH to DC) for Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem & Abhishek Sharma (DC to SRH), Quinton de Kock (RCB to MI), Jayant Yadav (DC to MI)

IPL 2020: Mayank Markande (MI to DC) for Sherfane Rutherford (DC to MI), R Ashwin (KXIP to DC) for Jagadeesha Suchith (DC to KXIP), Krishnappa Gowtham (RR to KXIP) for Ankit Rajpoot (KXIP to RR), Ajinkya Rahane (RR to DC) for Mayank Markande & Rahul Tewatia (DC to RR), Trent Boult (DC to MI), Dhawal Kulkarni (RR to MI), Siddheshwar Lad (MI to KKR)

IPL 2021: Daniel Sams (DC to RCB), Harshal Patel (DC to RCB), Robin Uthappa (RR to CSK)

IPL 2023: Shardul Thakur (DC to KKR) for Aman Khan (DC to KKR), Jason Behrendorff (RCB to MI), Lockie Ferguson (GT to KKR), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (GT to KKR)

IPL 2024: Romario Shepherd (LSG to MI), Hardik Pandya (GT to MI), Cameron Green (MI to RCB), Devdutt Padikkal (RR to LSG) for Avesh Khan (LSG to RR), Mayank Dagar (SRH to RCB) for Shahbaz Ahmed (RCB to SRH)

Read latest cricket updates on CrPatiNews

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *