Hockey Punjab Clinches Gold in Thrilling Penalty Shootout at the 13th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2023

Chennai, November 28, 2023 – Hockey Punjab emerged victorious in a breathtaking penalty shootout against defending champions Hockey Haryana, claiming the Gold medal at the 13th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2023. The electrifying final unfolded at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Hockey Stadium in Chennai, where Hockey Punjab displayed resilience and precision.

The final match between Hockey Punjab and Hockey Haryana saw an early lead taken by Hockey Punjab, with Harjeet Singh netting a goal in the 13th minute. However, Hockey Haryana responded strongly, with Sanjay scoring from a penalty corner in the 25th minute. Hockey Punjab’s Captain, Harmanpreet Singh, showcased his prowess with a powerful drag flick from a penalty corner, putting his team ahead in the 42nd minute. Nevertheless, Rajant of Hockey Haryana equalized the score once again with a goal in the 50th minute, leading to a dramatic penalty shootout.

The penalty shootout was equally intense, with both teams displaying remarkable skill. Sanjay, Deepak, and Abhishek scored for Hockey Haryana, while Harmanpreet Singh, Simranjeet Singh, and Sukhjeet Singh netted goals for Hockey Punjab. The shootout extended to sudden death, where Simranjeet Singh secured the hard-fought victory for Hockey Punjab, making them the champions of the tournament.

In the battle for the Bronze Medal, the Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu demonstrated a spirited comeback against Hockey Karnataka. The match ended in a 3-3 draw at the conclusion of regulation time. Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu’s BP Somanna scored the opening goal from a penalty corner in the 4th minute. However, Hockey Karnataka fought back valiantly, with goals from Captain Gowda Sheshe (12′), Harish Mutagar (34′), and Indian Men’s Hockey Team forward Mohammed Raheel Mouseen (38′). Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu made a stunning comeback, with goals from Sundarapandi (40′) and Indian Men’s Hockey Team forward Karthi Selvam (52′), forcing the game into penalty shootouts.

The penalty shootout was a thrilling contest, with Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu securing victory by a score of 5-3. Captain J Joshua Benedict Wesely, Kanagaraj Selvaraj, Dhanush M, Sundarapandi, and H Shyam Kumar all contributed with goals in the shootout, while goalkeeper S Senthamizh Arasu made crucial saves to seal the Bronze medal for Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu.

Share and Follow Us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *